PDA

View Full Version : Best fitting covers

jenni2
04-17-2003, 11:10 PM
Hi everybody!
I am a soon to be Mom that is very interested in CD. I like the look and feel of the Kissaluvs contours, and since I sew I'm planning on making some of my own contoured diapers as well. I don't want to have to worry with sewing in elastic, so the contoured diapers look like an easy way to go. If I am using contoured diapers, what is the best fiting, most snug cover available? I'm planning on purchasing the covers, just making the liners/contours myself. Do you think this will work? Like I said...I'm new to all of this!
Thanks for your help!
Jenni,
and Sarah - due May 20!

Karenn
04-18-2003, 12:04 AM
Hi,
I'm new to all of this too, but I used a Kissaluv contour today with a Bummis SIWW and it worked really well. The velcro let me get it as snug as it needed to be.

HTH,

Momof3Labs
04-18-2003, 07:28 AM
I just wonder how well contours would work with bf'd poops (do you plan to breastfeed) - you would need a really good cover because the cover would be catching most of the poops. And you would need extra covers because you would be changing them more often. Just something to think about.

That said, I love the Bumpy day/night covers. Prorap covers work fairly well, too, but the Bumpys are much softer. A lot of the fit and snugness depends on your baby and the diaper under the cover - so you may have some trial and error once Sarah arrives.

nohomama
04-18-2003, 08:28 AM
My advise would be to start with Prowraps and/or Bummis Super Whisper Wraps. Save the fun/more expensive covers for later when Sarah is a little older and won't outgrow them so quickly.

Lori is right. A fitted dipe will catch most or all of a newborn's runny poop better than a contour or prefold will. That said, Lola wore only prefolds for about the first six months of her life and we never had a tremendous problem with blow-outs getting through to her clothes.