PDA

View Full Version : CD Dilema - long

anguschick1
05-29-2003, 08:32 PM
I'll appologize in advance for being so long-winded. I've been perusing the boards for 2 months now and have learned what I thought was quite a bit, but need some help when it comes to the application.

My DS is now 12 days old and yesterday I tried CD for the first time (I wanted to make sure that the meconium had passed and that we were slightly in more of a routine). I took a Chinese Prefold (CPF?), folded it in thirds, put it inside my size 0 Kissiluvs cover (he's only 6lbs, 6ozs, a real peanut)and snapped it on. Well, besides the HUGE diaper butt that made my DH and I laugh, DS had his first big blow-out poo. It was everywhere. Am I doing something wrong? It was so messy that I really don't want to deal with it again if it's going to be that way everytime he poos in a CD. (FYI, we're breastfeeding, I think that makes a difference in poo consistency) Do Chinese Prefolds come in different sizes? Does it make sense to buy a smaller size if he's going to outgrow it soon? How do the disposable liners work? Where can you get them from?

Thanks in advance!

MelissaTC
05-29-2003, 09:09 PM
Kissaluvs makes covers? Did you put the prefold in the fitted diaper? Unless I am wrong, kissaluvs are dipes, not covers. Perhaps that is why his butt was so big? I am trying to understand what you did so I can help :) My son is bf as well but the fitted dipes seemed to control those blow-outs. You need to put a cover over the dipe. :)

Liners can be purchased at all the diaper websites. Check out www.kellyscloset.com or www.naturalebaby.com or www.naturalbabies.com to see the selection available. They work and some people on this board seem to like the rice paper liners. I like some sherpa ones I received awhile back. I just rewash them.

Prefolds do come in different sizes. I would think that your little one would be in a newborn size. If anything, you can move up to a regular (4x6x4).