PDA

View Full Version : Cloth Diaper Basic Questions

mjlong
09-19-2003, 09:17 AM
Hi, I am just beginning the 2nd trimester for our first child, and so I'm just researching all the options. We have a tight budget, so I'm thinking of going with just prefolds and proraps. Are there any of you that use just a basic system like this? Also, what sizes should I buy? I want to start buying things soon to try to spread the cost out. I'm thinking of starting out with 3 dozen infant size (6-18 lbs) and 6 small size proraps and maybe a few regular pull on covers. Will this be enough? Should I get liners, or are these more for when the baby is older? Do most of you use cloth wipes or some of both? We will also have some newborn disposables on hand, since we are first time parents and I imagine the first few weeks will be overwhelming. Thanks for your advice!

KathyO
09-19-2003, 09:32 AM
I'm not a prefold user myself (not by a specific choice, it just happened that way) but LOTS of folks use the setup you describe and are very happy with it.

Liners - I wouldn't bother until baby is older. Newborn poops are really glooshy and go all over the place inside the diaper, so the liners may not save you a lot of trouble laundry-wise. When they get into solids and their poops solidify some, then the liner is great for both cleanup and stain prevention.

Wipes - I use cloth wipes - bought a bunch of those baby washcloths at the dollar store and just moisten them with water before using. They're cheap, they're soft, they're indestructible, and the terrycloth side will be handy later on for gently scrubbing off the really thick, sticky poops. I use one of those flat containers with disposable wipes for our out-and-about diaper bag.

Hope that helps - you will enjoy walking past the diaper section at the grocery store week after week, and going "cha-ching!! another twenty dollars not spent!" (That's $20 Canadian - I guess it'll be different in US$, but you get the idea...)

Cheers,

KathyO