PDA

View Full Version : Diaper v. Cloth

lisajane
12-22-2003, 07:14 PM
Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie to this, expecting my first in March, and just now starting to think about diapers. Is there a good discussion on this or another forum that someone could point me to regarding the pros/cons of cloth and disposable?

And, is there also a discussion or list of what one needs to get started with CD'ing, including not just names but a quick description of what each product is? I just printed out the acronym list posted by HeatherSanders which has been helpful for reading through these posts!

I actually nanny'ed for a friend of mine almost ten years ago, for her daughter from 6-11 months, and she used cloth diapers, with just flatfolds in rubbery covers. They seemed fine to me. I'm just trying to figure out if CD'ng is really so difficult. And if washing them at home is so difficult.

Thanks much for any input!

Melanie
12-22-2003, 08:41 PM
Okay, I did not CD when my son was a newborn...but ever since we've switched it really is not that big of a difficult deal. You'd think it would be, coming from the disp. mindset, but it wasn't!

Have you seen Heather's website about the "diaper drama?" That's a good pro & con article....

http://www.punkinbutt.com/diaper_drama.html

Oops...kiddo's awake...I'll try to BBL.

Melanie
12-23-2003, 01:19 PM
As for getting started, you will want enough to wash every 2-3 days. If you are used to flat folds, you could go with prefolds as the least expensive route. I think with our next I will do prefolds at first b/c they go through SO many diapers at that age, and they hold still for changes. If you get prefolds, DO NOT BUY GERBER or anything you can find at BRU. Chinese prefolds are the best. Punknibutt still has some preemie & regular in stock. She's going out of business so they are a good price. I've heard Preemie is good at first, but you won't get a lot of use out of them unless you use them as doublers or pocket-stuffers later.