PDA

View Full Version : considering cloth--advice appreciated

crl
03-21-2004, 10:56 PM
Hi,

Hope you can stand more questions from a newbie. We're adopting from China and hoping for a referral in June and travel in August. Right now I'm guessing that our child (most likely a girl) will be one or so on gotcha day.

I think I'd like to cloth diaper, but this is going to have to be super easy for dh (and me). So, I'm thinking all-in-ones with doublers for night? Is this a reasonable approach? Other suggestions? I'm a total newbie so please tell me if I'm totally off-track!

Suggestions for brands and sources? (I'd like plain white diapers.)

Thanks for your thoughts!

egoldber
03-21-2004, 11:12 PM
Rather than all-in-ones (AIOs), how about pocket diapers instead? The beauty of these is that they are as easy as an AIO, but you can customize the absorbancy to the needs (and changing needs) of your child.

Some pockets fit some babies better than other, but a good way to be "prepared" might be to assemble your own sampler pack of pockets, try them when you bring your baby home and order more fo what works?

Some to try include:

Fuzzibunz (snap closure)
Happy Heinies (velcro closure)
thebabyblanket.com (similar to the HHs)

I know a lot of folks here are really liking Daisy Doodle pockets, but I've never tried those.

You can stuff these very cheaply with microfiber inserts from WalMart or Costco.

HTH,

sweetbasil
03-21-2004, 11:17 PM
Congratulations on your little one on the way :) I hope this is a very happy summer for your family!