PDA

View Full Version : Laundry Question

jenjenfirenjen
01-06-2005, 07:54 PM
I'm just starting to try CD. I got a sample pack from Natural Babies. So far, so good. I've read the Cloth Diapering 101 on here but I'm still a little confused on the laundry issue. How do you get out poop stains? DS has majorly wet, explosive BMs so I've been doing poopy laundry for 3 months already (the reason I decided to try CD.) The only way I've been able to get the poop stains out of his clothes is with OxyClean Baby but I read NOT to use that on cloth dipes. I saw a mention of using Zout but that would involve dousing the entire diaper in it. Is there something I'm missing or do I just live with poop stains?

Thanks for any input you can offer. I have already learned so much from these boards and I'm so excited to try CD (even though my mom thinks I'm nuts!)

alaible
01-06-2005, 09:31 PM
We have been cloth diapering since DD was about 2 months old. I haven't really had much problems with poop stains. And it wasn't until recently that her BM's became more solid. You could always dunk or rinse off the poopy diapers so there is less chance of staining but I never bothered with that either. I just put the entire poopy diaper into the diaper laundry bag and left it there until I was ready to wash the diapers. I do a pre-wash with 1/4 cup of detergent in warm water, then a hot wash without adding more detergent and a double rinse with a downy ball 1/2 filled with vinegar. You don't want to use too much soap because the residue can make the diapers less absorbant the vinegar helps to rinse the diapers clean. If you do the wash and still have a BM stain sun works wonders on most diapers - it bleaches the stain right out. When I did get a stain I would just lay a beach towel on our deck and lay the diapers on the towel and the sun takes the stain out in no time.

pritchettzoo
01-07-2005, 05:44 PM