PDA

View Full Version : Covers question

the2amigos
03-07-2005, 02:17 PM
I'm relatively new to CD. My son is 5 weeks old, we've been using cloth for the last three weeks and I love it! The only time we have had blow-outs have been in disposables!

I am using either Kissaluvs 0 or CPF - snappied - with small proraps. This works ok, no leaks or anything, but I'm finding the PUL so warm and "suffocating", also it leaves a little pink around his thighs. I tried our Aristocrat wool cover last night and am confused. He stayed dry, but the cover was damp on the outside in the back - and his diaper wasn't even really that wet there - the front of his diaper was soaked through and the wool was dry there?!?!? What's up with that? Was it just sweat in the back?

I have a small Fuzzibunz that I like on him. I'm thinking of branching out into more wool or fleece but don't know where to start. What is your favorite wool/fleece cover? And do I wait 'til he is a little bigger so I don't have to go through so many sizes? How do you measure for rise and thighs, etc? He is tall and a bit chunky I think for his age. I really liked the wool cover on him last night, no red marks on thighs and was so soft on his skin!

Another silly question - why don't some like hemp? The stink? What causes it to stink?

Sorry so many questions and thanks! I've been searching through the archives and you could spend days reading all the posts about some of this stuff - you guys are a great resource!!

mudder17
03-07-2005, 02:50 PM
Congratulations on your newborn! It's very exciting to have them in cloth, isn't it? I also used Kissaluvs and snappi'd PFs. But I was changing her so often (plus she was born in the winter) that I didn't have problem using PUL covers, although some of them did leave red marks around her legs. Did you lanolize your Aristocrat wool cover? I suppose it could be sweat, but I'm not sure why it would be wet in the back with the diaper being dry in the back.