PDA

View Full Version : Is this washing routine acceptable for sanitizing my cloth diapers?

Crisyn
09-29-2005, 07:06 PM
I am looking for some feedback on my washing regime. I studied the thread on laundering cloth diapers, but my washer does not have extra soak or rinse options, and with twins, I am simply too busy to be running up and down the stairs to stop the washer to let them soak :-(. I am soooo committed to using cloth diapers for my twins, so I am hoping that what I am doing is OK, because it is working for me time-wise. Here is what I am currently doing:
1. Put all cloth diapers, wipes and covers in washing machine. Add 1/4cup Tide Free & Clear. Wash on Cold, with cold rinse.
2. Wash again - hot wash, cold rinse. No detergent.
3. Put everything in dryer, on hot for 45 minutes. No fabric softener.

I have been putting my PUL covers in the dryer for now, because I only have a small number of Preemie/Newborn size covers. Once the twins are big enough for the Small covers - which I have much more of - I will hang the PUL covers to dry. Or maybe do I not need to?
Any thoughts on how I can improve my washing routine would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

KrisM
09-29-2005, 07:48 PM
Detergent works best in hot water. I would skip the cold wash and do a hot wash with detergent for your first step.

mudder17
09-29-2005, 07:51 PM
Hmm...detergent actually works better in hot water than in cold. If you spray off your poopy diapers, chances are that you can get away without doing a cold cycle first. So I would change your first cycle to hot--otherwise leaving everything else the same.

The other thing I would do is make sure you're not using too much detergent. In my case, 1/4 cup of Tide is way too much, but I know for some people they need at least that much. It depends on whether your water is hard or soft. If you get lots of suds in the second cycle even though you haven't added any detergent, then you're probably using too much detergent.