PDA

View Full Version : New to CD'ing and these boards--where to go from here?

4Cats
10-19-2005, 10:08 AM
Hi,

I've been lurking for some time on these boards but this is my first time posting. Thank you to everyone for all the helpful information and discussion that led to my and my DH's decision to switch to cloth!

This week we've begun CD'ing our 8-week old DS. Right now we have 7 small Fuzzi Bunz with cotton baby inserts and 5 Kissaluvs size 0 with terry/fleece boosters. I use a Bummis Super Whisper Wrap over the Kissaluvs combo.

We really like the Fuzzi Bunz so far, although they seem to have a slight quality control issue (discussed previously on these boards)--they seem to vary slightly in size, snap placement, etc... But all in all, it seems they fit well, do a good job of holding "stuff" in, and have room to grow. I really like the trimness, too.

Our problems are mainly with the Kissaluvs. The size 0 are supposed to last until 15 pounds, but on my DS (about 11-12 pounds at most) fills them out already. In particular, the fit is very "low rise" on him. They are great at holding in BF poo, but when he pees, it saturates the front in particular, and often seeps up through the cover resulting in the front of his clothes getting wet. I don't think he's a super heavy wetter (we rarely had pee-overflow in disposables). So I wonder if the problem is the fit of this diaper (i.e., too small) or just the general style of the diaper (too low rise)?

So, my questions are...

1. Is there a different fitted diaper/wrap combo that may provide more coverage/absorbency but is trimmer under clothers than the Kissaluvs? Or, should I go with a Kissaluvs size 1?

2. Are there other brands of pocket diapers that I might like, given that the FB's fit and work well for us?

3. Should I contact the merchant about one of the FB's which seems to be cut significantly narrower in the crotch than the others? I've washed this one (before I noticed it) but haven't used it yet.