PDA

View Full Version : Crossing over to the dark side

Rachels
11-01-2005, 04:51 PM
Sposies are DEFINITELY not working out well for Ethan, so we're about to make the jump into cloth. Holy cow, though. This is like rocket science. I've read all the threads and my head is spinning. (Can't imagine the degree to which it would spin WITHOUT those threads.) Let me ask: what's the single easiest starter CD for a total newbie with a newborn and a vague poop phobia?

-Rachel
Mama to Abigail Rose
5/18/02
http://www.gynosaur.com/assets/ribbons/ribbon_amethyst_36m.gif
Nursed for three years!

and Ethan James
10/19/05
http://www.mothering.com/discussions/images/smilies/bf.jpg

"When you know better, you do better."
Maya

aliceinwonderland
11-01-2005, 05:18 PM
I felt similarly overwhelmed when I started to CD, so if you want to do a search for threads I started on this forum (not very many), I received very good advice from the ladies :)
I still am SO not a pro, and really did not want to invest a whole lot of time to research this particular aspect of parenting ;), so I cheated and asked here ;)

I am afraid to give bad advice, but in my experience, All In Ones (AIOs) have been the BEST option by far for us, as they are really a no brainer, and all the "layers" you need (this is where I gave up with all the terminology) , basically come "with" the diaper. I have experiemented with other diapers, but then you need to get the layers straight and this is when I ended up with a soaked baby many a time...
I have tried AIOs both from Calico Baby and Tykie Diapers, and like both a lot. I think I got the Calico on sale and it was far cheaper.

Oh, and I also never saw the getting on a list to buy diapers point, so I always check the "in stock" or "on sale now" pages, and if nothing there, I move on. But as I said, I am a perpetual rookie, we only cloth diaper at night 4 days a week and full time 3 days a week, so I hope the veterans will chime in :)

trumansmom
11-01-2005, 05:29 PM