PDA

View Full Version : Oxy Clean - What to do?

psophia17
11-04-2005, 05:24 PM
I've never used this before, but bought some on sale...what do I do with it in relation to washing hemp, FBs, and motherease one-size diapers?

Thanks!

calebsmama03
11-04-2005, 06:14 PM
You can use it along with your detergent BUT it can be tough on fabric so I'd only use it if there's a stain you're trying to oust. I've also used it for stink with some positive result. I'd do an extra rinse (if you don't already do one) just to be sure the stuff is full out of your dipes though.

OT but FWIW do NOT, I repeat, NOT ever do an Oxy soak (ala the suggestion of layette forum for stains) then try to "sun" your dipes for extra stain fighting power. I have 2 dipes and a doubler that are completely free of stains but got ripped to SHREDS during the next wash cycle! Literally they look like they were made of Kleenex rather than cotton fleece :(
Lynne
Mommy to C 3/03
http://www.gynosaur.com/assets/ribbons/ribbon_emerald_18m.gif[/img][/url]
And Miss Purple, 5/05

squimp
11-04-2005, 06:41 PM
Why do you want to use it? Oxy clean can do really weird stuff to clothes, and I only use it when I have a stain that Zout won't remove. I have used Zout on stains on fleece, PFs and hemp, and it works really well and seems to cause no damage.

psophia17
11-04-2005, 07:32 PM
I bought it because during one of my first knitting projects, I did a really nice job but discovered at the end that the first half of the scarf was a different color than the last half - the first half had been the outside of the skein of yarn that I'd would into a ball, and the second half had been the inside of the skein of yarn. So the discolored part ended up right next to the bright white part. I bought the OxyClean in the hopes that it would take care of this - and was pretty sure I'd read that you could use it on CDs easily.