PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to CDing and have a question about Kooshies!!!!

heidiann
11-13-2005, 10:48 PM
I mentioned to my sister that I was interested in CDing my daughter who is 3 weeks old. I have been doing some research here on the boards but never went out and purchased anything yet. My sister's friend from work has lent me some diapers to try out.
These are aio's I believe ( i know i told you i was a newbie,lol..)
they are called kooshies, are these ok to use for a newborn?? i would assume that they are since the weight on them says 4-11 pounds.
has anyone used them, and what do you think of them???

How do you wash them? I read all the posts in the CD101 so do i just follow those post with the rinses and soaks ect??? it never specified if it is ok to do with aio's???

thanks in advance for all your help, i really would like to cd my daughter but i need a little help from all you wonderful mommies!!

heidi
Jillian born 10/20/05

mudder17
11-14-2005, 12:37 AM
Okay, first off, welcome and congratulations!

Kushies are the AIOs that my friends have used to diaper their twins since they were newborns. So yes, they do work with newborns. However, their kids were both half formula fed and half BF'd, so their poop was actually more pasty and not nearly as leaky as BF'd poop usually is. My daughter's poop actually leaked out of pockets (which are more like AIOs) even at 5 months! So AIOs don't tend to work as well as containing leaky poop explosions. In general, you want a two-part system like prefolds + covers or fitted diapers + covers because whatever the diaper part doesn't contain, the cover (better with gussets, which are an extra fold of material around the legs) usually does. I think with a two part system, I never actually got poop on my DD's clothes, except for the few times when there was user error and two of those times were with diarrhea.