PDA

View Full Version : New to Cloth

moncheechee
07-26-2007, 07:11 PM
I am 8 mos preg. and having a boy. I am new to cloth diapering and have purchased a fuzzi bunz and a bum genius one size. My husband really likes the ease of the bum genius' and the velcro sides. I think that is what I want to use. I just do not know anyone that has used cloth before. The bum genius I got comes with an insert and I was wondering if I need more or have to purchase a different kind for different times of the day? Should I use more than one insert? Also I do not know how many to purchase of the cd or the inserts. I would like to do laundry every other day as a SAHM. Also I want to know what to do when we go out and he's wearing cloth? Or when we go to church and he is in the nursery. Please help if you have any suggestions or can point me in the right direction.

luvsviola
07-26-2007, 10:25 PM
FB and BG are awesome. Those are my favorite dipes for once you get past the newborn stage.

DD is 6 months. We use the inserts that came with the BG. The inserts that come with the FB are not as absorbent. I tried them first, but after a couple weeks, I replaced all mine with the cotton babies (Bum Genius) inserts. That makes the FB work as a night time diaper as well. We can go about 12 hours without leaks with the cotton babies inserts at night. During the day, I change her about every 3 hours.

In the beginning I used 10-12 diapers a day. I have about 30 smalls because some live in the diaper bag, two live at grandmas, a couple are downstairs in the pack and play, and they tend to wander. You can buy them used on DiaperSwappers.com, which is a great way to make your money go further, though having new ones is always nice. AAfter the first kid, you get over the "it has to be new" phase really quickly or at least I did. I boiled any used inserts I bought on the stove in water for 5 minutes and the KLs I bought but you cannot boil BG or FB.