PDA

View Full Version : New boards and new member!

jec2
08-26-2003, 02:08 PM
Since today there is so much that is new here, I thought what a perfect time to introduce myself.

I have been lurking and learning for some time and have enjoyed both the BB boards and the book.

My husband and I are expecting our first baby October 28th and are really starting to get geared up for his/her arrival. One of my dear friends is due one week after me so we’ve had a lot of fun baby-prepping together, and BB has become an indispensable resource for us both.

In the meantime, I am a graduate student studying political science in Santa Barbara and am "working" on my dissertation. I have found baby—and you all--to be a big, albeit welcomed, distraction from my writing! Political science probably sounds boring, and honestly some of it is. However, I study political socialization of younger people (kids) and environmental politics, which I think are quite fun. Ironically, we have just started to consider cloth diapering and, as a result, I have been spending a lot of my time in that forum.

Hopefully I’ll be able to provide some of my own ideas and offer what I can to the dilemmas you all encounter.

Looking forward to seeing you around the board!

amp
08-26-2003, 02:16 PM
Congrats! And welcome to the boards!

chrissyhowie
08-26-2003, 02:51 PM
Hi! It's nice coming out of lurkdom, isn't it :)?

I find these Boards a great break during the day -- it's like calling your friend to say hi when your brain needs to switch gears for a little while! Educational too!

Welcome and best of luck with your studies and thesis!

mamahill
08-26-2003, 04:43 PM
Congrats on your imminent graduation to motherhood, and your dissertation! Glad you came out of lurkdom - we really are quite nice :).

Rachels
08-26-2003, 06:43 PM
Welcome!!!! I've done the dissertation thing, too, and I know how it feels to have a welcome distraction! But write while you have the time, if you can bear to. :) Glad you're here!