PDA

View Full Version : Just wanted to introduce myself- I'm new, too!

josephmama
01-23-2004, 12:46 PM
Hi everyone, I introduced myself in the Lounge but wanted to do so here, too. I've only been a lurker for a little while but have alrerady found everyone incredibly helpful!

I’m Camiel, 28 and a college career counselor in SE Virginia. DH is a CPA. We've been married 3 1/2 years. We’re both originally from upstate NY and do NOT miss the cold up there in the “tundra” as we call it. DS is 5 ½ months and I have enjoyed every second with him. I went back to work Jan 5 and it's been hard- even though I love my job and he’s at a great daycare right on campus and I spend my lunch hour with him. So I am grateful for any advice on being a working mom (or how you can convince your college to let you work PT…)

It's great to find a forum of people like everyone here!

Hey, any fellow Wahoo's out there?

sarahfran
01-23-2004, 03:53 PM
I'm a graduate wahoo (Curry, 96)... undergrad William & Mary... go Tribe! (yah, right, I know, they're not much of a team but my alma mater nonetheless).

Where are you in SE VA? Chesapeake? VA Beach? Sounds like your son was born around the same time as mine.

I don't have much advice on the full time working thing, and finding part time work is hard. I'm PT, but hanging on by a thread (they keep threatening me that I need to go FT or else... the hatchet is set to fall in 6 mos, so I need to "prove" myself by then or have another alternative!!)

Welcome! I'm new, but having fun so far!
-Sarah
Mom to Dylan, 8/18/03

Motherhood is such a joy!

josephmama
01-23-2004, 04:34 PM
Sarah, how funny- I was undergrad UVA (CLAS, 98) now I work at W&M. We live in Williamsburg- home to tourists, students and the retired. I'm sure you know it well. Are you in VA still? It's great to meet someone with a baby boy the same age as Joseph! Thanks for the introduction! And I wish you luck with keeping your job!

mharling
01-23-2004, 08:07 PM