PDA

View Full Version : Please help another Zolo virgin - I can't figure out Cradle Hold!

MiaPia
09-02-2003, 07:38 PM
HELP! I'm in tears of frustration right now. I got my cotton Zolo today and have spent all afternoon trying to figure it out. I studied the Zolo site and watched all the videos from the Maya site, but I'm still stumped on the cradle hold. When I try to put Isabella in it she starts to scream, even though she was fine before. She looks SO wadded up and contorted when she's in there.
So, here are my questions:

1)What *side* should her head be on? The rings are on my left side. The Zolo site shows the head on the SAME side as the rings, but the Maya video shows the head on the OTHER side. I'm trying to put her in with her head on the "ring side"

2)How high up on my body should she be?

3)Where should her feet be? Should her body/neck be contorted? I can't seem to get her straightened out in there.

If it helps, she's 7 weeks old, has pretty decent head control, and is very long - almost 23"!
Oh - I also tried her in the "snuggle hold" and she screamed with that, and we got all twisted up. :( I feel like a sling failure.

The only positive is that I did succesfully carry my toddler in the hip carry!

mommyj
09-02-2003, 08:10 PM
I've had better luck with the cradle hold while using my Rebozo, but maybe that's just because I only really figured out how to adjust my Zolo sling this afternoon. DS is ths same age as your baby and he's probably just as long. They grow so fast, don't they?
Anyway, I've had good luck doing the snuggle hold with ds' legs tucked under him in the sling. He loves sleeping like that anyway, so I haven't tried to pull his legs out yet. I just make sure his feet aren't folded in any weird positions, and he LOVES it. If your dd likes to be more cuddled up, you might want to give that a try. Good luck! Hopefully you'll get good instructions on the cradle hold, because I need them too :)

susabusa
09-03-2003, 08:04 AM