PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a sling or two for a first time mom...

smilequeen
10-09-2003, 09:37 AM
I think I want a sling (or two or three LOL) for my baby due in May. I don't know that much about slings I admit. I love the Chinese fabrics of the Zolowear slings and these http://www.fancybabysling.com/shop.html
Anyone have any feedback one way or the other on those. I'm definitely new to this and I want something that will be fairly easy to learn to use with a newborn.

I'm also up for suggestions for just a basic sling for the newborn...maybe just a plain black?

And do any of you also have a Bjorn type carrier? Would DH maybe prefer this. I'm kind of partial to the slings, although I have no real experience with either. They just look like they would be more comfortable for everyone.

I also should add that I was a D/DD before getting pregnant and plan to breastfeed(like I needed these ladies to grow...LOL) and I assume this WILL make a difference in what kind of sling might work for me.

Thanks guys!

egoldber
10-09-2003, 01:08 PM
A pouch style sling the Adjustable Fleece Pouch from Kangaroo Korner is very easy to use, comfy for mom and baby. My only reservation would be if you lived in a warm climate.

As far as ring slings go, many people like the Rosado, Zolowear, Over The Shoulder Baby Holder, Taylor Made Treasures and Maya Wrap slings. Some of it is personal preference and some of it is that some slings work better for some than others.

We started with the Bjorn. My DH loved that and he would rather be caught dead than wearing a sling. He occasionally wears her in our backpakc carrier, but if I am carrying her these days it is in a sling.

HTH,

mamahill
10-09-2003, 02:53 PM