PDA

View Full Version : New to Slinging! Advise me, lead me, show me the way...

lmariana
07-21-2004, 01:42 PM
Hi everyone! This is my first time in this forum. I'm thinking about getting a sling to carry Gabe in. I'd probably use it mostly for the airport, weddings, waiting in line for rides at Disney, etc. So it wouldn't get a ton of use (unless we fall in love with it) but it will be worn in hot and humid climates.

Gabe is 11 months old, extremely easy going, weighs 23 pounds and is 32"+ tall. I think he'd do well in a sling because he loves being cradled in my arms and riding on my hip. I've browsed this forum a little and am leaning towards a hot sling because it doesn't involve any adjusting, looks easy to use, looks compact, and isn't ugly. :)

So, any tips, advice, recommendations on getting my first sling? I have a Bjorn from the newborn days that annoyed the crap out of me. I couldn't ever get it adjusted correctly and it killed my back and shoulders...

Thanks!

Mariana
www.heinzandmariana.com
Mother of Gabriel, 08/14/2003

papal
07-21-2004, 02:18 PM
Mariana.. since you don't think you will be using it too much, a non-adjustable hotsling with padded rail may be the way to go.. make sure you get the right size.. give Kirsten a call.. measurements are of paramount importance in case of something like a hotsling!

dowlinal
07-21-2004, 04:04 PM
Mariana,
Are you sure you want to start with slings? They are just as addictive as diaper bags. I started with a KKAFP and in 5 months have now acquired a KKACP, MNM, hotsling, rev jan sling, and a solerveil sling. I also have a kozy on the way. (it's brown so I think it will match my dark chocolate fleurville).