PDA

View Full Version : Kangaroo Korner adjustable cotton pouch

cowboyjunki
09-13-2004, 08:45 PM
I am brand new to the babywearing scene, having just bought a Nojo sling that I am not crazy about. My husband likes it (he is 5'11"), but I think it's a little large for me at 5'2". It causes my shoulder to ache after about 5 minutes of carrying my 4 week old baby around - he weighs approx. 8 lbs.

I am thinking of getting the KK adjustable cotton pouch. I live in Florida, so the AFP is not an option, as I understand that it will be too warm for our climate. Does anyone who is short like me have this, and if so, does it cause shoulder or back pain? I am seriously considering ordering one, but wanted some feedback from some other petite mommys. TIA!

zen_bliss
09-14-2004, 05:51 AM
sorry to hear that! you need a comfortable sling that fits you! the nojo is sort of 'one size fits none well'.

i have the KKACP and it is convenient for quick errands but it is not comfortable for longer jaunts nor for BFing. not because of petite stature, but because it does not have the nice stretch that the KKAFP has, and the snap section is folded in half so it is not spread as well. now, as a toddler i grab it first for quick errands, but i couldn't stand it when she was tiny and preferred a stretchy pouch or ring sling. i do love the KKAFP for cold weather. the mom and me hemp pouch fit the bill best for us with our hot weather (los angeles) but you can only find these used now. it's pretty easy to make a pouch sling (though not adjustable) with this pattern: http://www.ida.net/users/stace/sling.html