PDA

View Full Version : advantages to adjustable pouch?

american_mama
11-20-2004, 01:49 PM
I want to buy my first sling and have decided on a pouch from either kangaroo korner (the KKAFP), mamma's milk Invisibly Adjustable, or Hotslings pouch with padded rails. Hotslings are not adjustable. What are the advantages of an adjustable pouch? My husband would be willing to try a pouch, but he is extremely broad shouldered and barrell chested, and I don't know if the same sling will fit us both.

Any recommendations between these three pouches?

I will use the pouch with a newborn for soothing, doing housework and dishes, nursing, and possibly for transportation. My newborn really likes being upright against the chest or looking over the shoulder. I do not do attachment parenting, so I won't be wearing baby for hours and hours (hopefully!)

TereasaT
11-20-2004, 05:53 PM
I'm fairly new to the world of slings, but I can tell you my experience with my newborn (now 8 week old). With my Hotslings pouch, I originally ordered an extra small which was too small so I exchanged it for a small. Well, after I lost all of my pregnancy weight in a couple of months, I needed an XS/S. That said, a nonadjustable pouch is wonderful and simple yet you need to have a great fit. If your husband and you measure differently, you will not be able to share a nonadjustable pouch. (instructions for measuring can be found on any of the sling sites).

Now, I had a great experience with the Kangaroo Korner adjustable pouch (KKAFP). Being new to the sling world, I didn't know how I wanted to wear my baby. Now, I know that I like to wear DS tight and high. I also like the adjustability for when I am wearing significantly bulkier clothes. My husband and I can also share this pouch. I wear it on the smallest setting and he wears it on the largest setting. I also love how snuggly the fleece is.