PDA

View Full Version : Travelling to India ... Need some advice, PLEASE!!!

annasmom
03-10-2005, 01:54 PM
Hi everybody! We are planning a family trip to India in early May (a very hot time of year in India), and I really need some of your expert opinions!

My dc will be 20 months and 4 months when we go. I am planning on bringing a single stroller (haven't definitely decided on which one), and hope to carry my ds in a sling/pouch. We will be doing a lot of sight seeing, but I do not know yet where we are going exactly, and whether we are going to be walking mostly, or taking buses & taxis, etc.

Right now, I have a baby bjorn and a KKAFP. I am not very good at using the KKAFP, but I just don't get to use it as much as I had envisioned. Because of the hot weather in India, I want to get a new carrier. I am hoping to get something similar to the KKAFP, but lighter weight and cooler. Slings scare me, so I would prefer a pouch. Any suggestions??? TIA!!

nitaghei
03-10-2005, 03:33 PM
AACKK!! May is going to be miserably hot - there's no way around that. And babywearing is going to be NO fun - no matter how light the sling is.

I was in India in November, when DS was 22 months old. I took my cotton Hotsling and my Kozy - and that's basically what I would recommend. Try for the lightest weight, light colored Hotsling you can find.

The Kozy is great in that it's a 2 shouldered carrier, and much more comfortable that a pouch - would be better for your older child.

I am not a fan of the KKACP - it seemed really uncomfortable to me - but that's another option for a relatively cool pouch.

BTW - you may as well know now. No one uses car seats in India. Most cars don't even have seat belts in the back. Of course, maybe you already knew this! :)

Where in India are you going? My mother (in Delhi) told me last week summer's arrived - and it is already HOT!

Nita
mom to Neel, January 2003
dog mom to a PWD and a cocker(at the Rainbow Bridge)

annasmom
03-10-2005, 03:54 PM