PDA

View Full Version : Stretch Cotton Pouch Fabric vs 100% Cotton Pouch Fabric? Opinions Please

suzhatch1
04-04-2005, 06:15 PM
I've finally decided on both a pouch & a Kolamo Mei Tei. For the pouch I definately would like to have:

1) Reversible pattern (2 pouches in 1) :)
2) The thin padded rail (for babies legs)
3) And the slight stretchiness of a cotton blend sounds really nice.

So I was planning on ordering from Hotslings, but I couldn't find a fabric pattern that particularly jumped out at me. I know I could probably pick my own & send in the fabric, but I'm a pouch newbie and definately am *NOT* sewing inclined. I wouldn't even know where to start at a fabric store.

So, I was checking some reviews on BabyWearer & found a couple places that have some great feedback & reasonable prices for reversible pattern pouches & with the padded rail. Thing is, I think their fabric is 100% cotton (no give) instead of the slight stretchiness you get with the blend. Now, I know the stretch cotton isn't a lot of stretch (not like a swimsuit or anything), but just a little stretch (like stretch jeans). Which I still think sounds nice.

For an extra $10-$15 & to live with a pattern you might not like as much, would you vote for the stretchy cotton or would the regular cotton be fine? I fear the non-stretch may pull a bit more tightly around the shoulder and be uncomfortable.

Thanks!

mamaAnn
04-04-2005, 07:02 PM
Yes, the stretch cotton is nice but the 100% cotton is great too. I don't find it less comfortable at all. I think I still prefer my stretch cotton but mainly because this is what I learned with so am more used to it. But the 100% cotton is a close 2nd and a little cooler I think for summer.
Hotslings are supposed to be coming out with a stretch cotton reversible in the next few weeks too-not sure if she'll have more fabric though.
www.Heavenlybundle.com does reversibles and a padded leg rail though it's not advertised on her site. She has some great reviews too.