PDA

View Full Version : Determined to babywear this time

Rachels
04-15-2005, 02:21 PM
The only sling I had when Abigail was born was a Maya Wrap, and I hated it. The rings dug into my shoulder, and it took me forever to get it adjusted. I also had a Bjorn, which both Abby and I hated. I never got comfortable with either one of these and wound up just carrying her all the time, which my back and elbows scolded me for. I think I would probably like a pouch, and I'm all about simplicity, but there's so much stuff out there that I don't even know where to start. What do you think? Advice for a total novice who wishes not to be a total novice?

-Rachel
Mom to Abigail Rose
5/18/02
New baby coming in October!

"When you know better, you do better."
Maya Angelou

http://www.gynosaur.com/assets/ribbons/ribbon_sapphire_24m.gif Two years and counting!

Java
04-15-2005, 03:07 PM
I love the hotsling for it's simplicity. And Kristen is GREAT about switching sizes if you happen to get one too small/too big.

I couldn't figure out my ring sling either. Towards the end it was easier to figure out but I'm an impatient person and fiddling with the fabric in the rings just didn't go with my "I'm LATE again!" lifestyle.

BTW - a HUGE congratulations to you Rachel!

nitaghei
04-15-2005, 03:17 PM
Rachel,

An adjustable pouch is probably the way to go. Since you're due in October - and you're in in the Boston area, right? - the Kangaroo Korner Adjustable Fleece Pouch should work. I personally LOVE my Mom n Me Pea in a Pod pouch (same general principle) - but they're hard to come by as Jen deals with her son's illness.

Once you have the snaps adjusted to fit - you don't have to worry again. The nice part of an adjustable pouch is that you'll be able to wear it over a coat, if necessary.

I love my Hotslings - in fact the cotton Hotsling was my single most used baby carrier. But either the KKAFP or the MnM should be better for you.

ETA: