PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions

infocrazy
08-08-2006, 11:20 AM
I have finally accepted that DS is getting too big for the infant carrier (still well within limits it's just getting way too heavy for me now). I am really going to miss it for quick errands.

He is not much of a fan for the stroller and I end up pushing an empty stroller and carrying him.

I'm thinking of trying a sling. Any suggestions on the type?

I would rather it not be too expensive since I'm not sure he'll like it. He is pretty independent and has just started walking, so I can see the day soon where he doesn't want to be carried.

DS is 12 months, 29", 20 lbs. I am 5'9" and will hopefully be getting pregnant in the next few months with #2. Let me know if any other info would help...I'm a newbie at slings.

Thanks in advance!

JacksMommy
08-08-2006, 11:12 PM
Hmm, in your situation, I'd be looking at two types of carriers : either a sling or a mei tai style/structure carrier. The sling (pouch or ring sling) has the benefit of being very "poppable" if your DS wants to get up and down a lot. (an aside: even though he has started walking, usually it's a while before they can really walk everywhere or before you want them to!). KKAFP is my favorite beginner pouch, but being fleece, you can only get this one if you're not in a too warm climate. A mei tai style carrier would allow you to carry DS on your front or back (some people also carry on the hip but I like pouches better for that), which would be handy when you get pregnant - it's pretty much impossible to use a sling when you are too pregnant.