PDA

View Full Version : What next after a baby bjourn

heidiann
10-23-2006, 09:59 AM
O.K. I'm totally a novice at babywearing, Jillian is a year old and I occasionally use the baby bjourn, but was told I can only use it to 25 pounds (is that correct?) I would like a carrier of some sort but don't want to put a ton of money into it b/c its not something I use *alot*. Any suggestions?
tia

Heidi
Mom to Jillian 10/20/05

blueeyedb
10-23-2006, 10:11 AM
I am not an expert at all, but on the advice of the ladies here, I tried a Ring Sling for my DS who weighs roughly 20 lbs. I love it! I have only used the hip carry so far, but it works really well for us. I made my sling using these instructions (http://crafts.sleepingbaby.net/sling.html) and because I got the fabric on clearance, the whole thing cost me under $10. The Maya Wrap also seems to be a popular choice and they are beautiful.

JacksMommy
10-23-2006, 12:26 PM
The Bjorn is meant for small babies and is recommended up to one year or the weight limit. I'm surprised it's still comfortable for you!

There are two very similar question if you read down this page, and lots of answers to them. Have you checked out those threads? if not, I recommend you do so.

For me personally, the KKAFP (Kangaroo Korner Adjustable Fleece Pouch) was a great transition. I wore DS in the hip carry after he was too big for the Bjorn.

Laurel
Mama to Jack 6/02 and Maddy 12/04

Babywearing education in Napa, CA

samantha546
10-24-2006, 01:47 AM
I would recommend something like the ERGO or if you're not interested in investing a bit, the Sutemi Pack is very similar but easier on the pocketbook.

tarynsmum
10-24-2006, 09:54 AM
Heidi,

I just sent you a PM.

I forgot to say though, Pittsburgh NINO also has a website (pittsburghnino.com), and a yahoo group (there's a link on our website).

MommyAllison
10-24-2006, 01:29 PM