PDA

View Full Version : backpack bag question

s_gosney
08-28-2003, 08:23 PM
Hi everyone. We are expecting our first in mid-October, and I thought I would post one of my millions of questions here. I am a full time college student who will be returning to classes as soon as possible after baby makes her debut and will be carrying her to class with me for the remainder of this semester. I was wondering if it would be possible to buy a large multi-pocket backpack to serve as both my backpack and diaper bag. My thinking was that I could use the largest pouch for my notebooks, etc. and then the smaller pouches for all of the baby stuff. Is this reasonable? I will be nursing her, so won't need bottles, though can't you buy separate bottle insulators were this to become an issue later? Also, you can buy wet bags separately too, correct? Anything else I haven't thought of? Maybe I'm just missing something as I'm a novice in this area, but it seems to me that this would work. Any tips or thoughts you might have are appreciated! TIA!

Sherri

stillplayswithbarbies
08-28-2003, 09:10 PM
Yes, you can do that, but it might be better to just buy a regular backpack for your stuff, and just put baby stuff in one of the compartments. You can buy a changing pad that folds up with a pack of wipes inside it. Look at WalMart in the baby section near the bathing stuff.

I think you would have better luck finding a comfortable backpack that way.

You can look at the One Step Ahead diaper backpack, and the Baby Sherpa. These are both huge and might work for you. But honestly it would be cheaper to get a regular backpack and add the baby stuff to it. For bottles you can get a lunch size cooler, or you can buy a cooler made just for bottles. A ziploc bag works for a wet bag. Wipes can be bought in travel containers that you can refill.

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

s_gosney
08-28-2003, 09:20 PM