PDA

View Full Version : Sylish/functional backpack recommendations?

laurajaney
03-15-2004, 11:19 PM
I'm bored with the blk Kate Spade messenger bag I have been carrying for 2 yrs, and with DS#2 due in 4 wks, I am ready for a backpack. (I need to be hands-free with a toddler & a newborn.) I definitely don't travel light, so I need something roomy. (I don't think I'd even be able to pack for 2 in the KS bag;)!) I'd like something stylish as well. Is it too much to ask?

I've never seen any of these IRL, so I need to rely on you and on-line merchants. (Right now, not much time/energy for shopping :-(.)
-The ella bags don't have any outside pockets which seems like a big downside.
-Petunia Picklebottoms seem too delicate for everyday use.
-Any comments on Fleurville Alpha 7?
-Or Bumble Bags?
-Or Pastille? (I don't think that's the mfr; I think it's the style. I saw it at www.onefinebaby.com.)
-Other ideas?

Thanks so much!!!
:-) Laura
SAHM of Theodore Mason 3/30/02
and DS#2 EDC 4/22/04

the5howards
03-15-2004, 11:48 PM
>-Any comments on Fleurville Alpha 7?

I have an Alpha7 and I love it for space and function but I hate the velcro closure on top. Several times when i have packed it pretty full the velcro has given and all of my stuff went flying.

As for the Petunia I don't own one but a friend of mine does and i think its a great size bag for a moderate to heavy packer esp with two kids and the top zips and the Flap velcros. I would love to own one but I am scared of the silk fabric.

khakismom
03-16-2004, 12:12 AM
If you are looking for purely functional, the BabyTrend ActivPak is a great choice. It comes in either black or navy. And while, it doesn't look like a book bag or anything like that, it isn't the most stylish thing you'll ever have on your back.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005TPSQ/qid=1079408355/br=1-4/ref=br_lf_ba_4//104-3045969-1048715?v=glance&s=baby&n=542428