PDA

View Full Version : Need help deciding btwn ameribag msg tote & backpack

hellokitty
05-20-2004, 03:19 PM
Well, I am a pocket freak and have about 10 diaper bags sitting in my closet that just aren't cutting it in terms of being practical. After reading some posts here I think I am going to try the ameribag. However, I have never tried it IRL before, so I need your help. I can't decide btwn the ameribag messenger tote or the traditional ameribag healthy bag (still undecided about small vs medium).

Here are some things that I consider important...

- must have a seperate pocket for a changing pad (I think these get icky, so I don't like it touching my other stuff... yes I am picky and a germ freak!)

- must have a pocket for hand sanitizer

- must be able to hold a bottle of water and probably a sippy cup too

- must have a key fob

- must have a cell phone compartment

- need a pocket for my wallet

- must have easy access to the bag

- would be nice to be able to fit my solarveil sling into the bag

- I prefer a lightwt bag, how heavy are these?

- Does the messenger tote stay on your shoulder?

- Need a compartment for my stuff (lip balm, coupons, hairbands, gum, etc.)

- Must be able to fit at least 4 disposable diapers

- Must be able to fit a baby outfit, a few rattles, maybe a board book, and some snacks

I already have a LE do it all for longer trips. So, this bag would be basically an everyday errand bag. My primary stroller right now is the universal car seat carrier, but my other strollers are a combi soho, maclaren techno and yakima beetle... nothing that has a huge basket, I like things that are compact and efficient, strollers and diaper bags included, lol.

Anyways, I would appreciate your opinions and any advice you may have. I'm sick of fumbling with diaper bags that just aren't meeting my needs, and honestly I am not that concerned with how fashionable it looks, b/c all my cute diaperbags look good, but aren't very functional. TIA!