PDA

View Full Version : Diaper Bag for Vacation (Cruise)

JustMare
06-08-2004, 06:25 PM
I have approx. 90 days to our cruise and I'm already obsessing!

I have the Nordstrom Diaper tote and a SkipHop bag. I plan to bring the SkipHop since we'll be making a stop at Disneyworld for the day and it's a great bag for a theme park. But for the cruise, I'm not sure if the Nordstrom Tote is sufficent? DS will be on baby food by then and I'll need to carry his food and equipment with me. The bag might get too heavy.

Anyone have use a great bag for a vacation that they can recommend? I'm debating if I should get a backpack. I've never worn a backpack, but was tempted to purchase the RL Polo Backpack at Costco for $19. Had tons of pockets and was very lightweight, but I chickened out since I've never used one before.

Also, if anyone has any tips on packing and shelping everything on vacation I'm all ears!

Thanks!

khakismom
06-08-2004, 06:45 PM
Highly recommend the backpack. We just got back from a cruise about 2 weeks ago and I would never go again without the backpack.

Mine mainly hung on the handles of our Pliko (about 95% of the time)but occasionally I would need to wear it and it was wonderful to be hands-free. I flew into Tampa with both girls by myself and the backpack was a life saver. Our previous travel excursion with both girls I had a LE Multiple Tot Tote and I swear it was like hauling around a suitcase. Never again.

I found I actually needed 2 bags on the trip. The big dipe bag to go on excursions, hang at the pool, and strolling around the boat--and for that we used the backpack, and it hung on the stroller. I used a smaller dipe bag with just the essentials for 1.5 hours during dinner because we didn't take our stroller to dinner. So for that I used the Fleurville Escape Pod to hold bibs, 1 dipe, wipes, my room key, lipstick... stuff like that. Plus I was all dressed up and I wasn't about to sling the backpack over my shoulder. :)