PDA

View Full Version : What to do while waiting

crl
07-01-2004, 06:26 PM
I spotted some good ideas for things to do while waiting for a referral and/or travel in the update thread. I hope no one minds that I'm pulling them out and starting a new thread--I just think it's such a good topic.

Here goes:

1. shop--depends how much info you have, but a lot of fun, even just looking
2. exercise--this is a great idea. I'm so glad I started lifting weights over a year ago, because it looks like our son will be around 20 pounds when we get him. And I'm a total wimp so it would have been really difficult for me to carry him around without the increased strength.
3. cook freezer meals--another great idea. I'm actually spending sometime today and tomorrow doing this. (Starting with veg. lasagne and broccoli strata, later plan to do meatballs, cooked shredded chicken, muffins and cookies)
4. go on a vacation--especially if you don't have kids, this may be your last kid-free vacation for a good long while
5. take a class--learn the language of your child's homeland (full disclosure: my attempt at learning Chinese was a huge flop, I'm going to have to try again), or learn to paint, or whatever you've always been meaning to do.
6. if you are adopting itnernationally, learn about the culture
7. find a pediatician
8. schedule all your doctor's appointments for before you adopt--you won't want to go the eye doctor the month after your new baby is home and you sure don't want a cavity to make itself known while you are overseas (if you are traveling)

I'd love to see other people's ideas for this!

Thanks,

holliam
07-01-2004, 09:19 PM
Good idea because these next couple of months are going to make me crazy!

For the first few months of our wait, I actually took a second job on the side which ate away at a ton of my free time but helped keep me busy!

I also researched (and bought) every baby product I could possibly need! That's how I found you gals. ;)