PDA

View Full Version : want info on China adoption

jubilee
07-22-2004, 04:07 AM
I want to consider adopting a daughter from China... however I think it will be a few years. (Plus I still have to get my hubby on board with the plan! :)) Anyway, I'm not ready to contact an agency but I want more info. I've found the thestoryofyou.com site, but it glosses over the real meat of how did the family decide on China, what were the barriers, info on parent over 45 years old adopting (hubby is 42 now, but I'm 33), etc. Does anyone have websites or groups they could recommend? I'm a researcher at heart, so I need to soak up every bit of info before I am ready to say this is the right decision for me, my family, and the little daughter that I think is out there for me.
Thanks SO much!

crl
07-22-2004, 08:21 AM
Hmmm, I suggest joining apc--a huge yahoo group for people interested in China adoptions. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/a-parents-china/ You can get flamed there pretty easily, but there's a lot of great information. I'd just read for awhile and then if you're feeling brave, you could start posting. :-) You can also check out the links in the apc links section.

You could also check out the Families with Children from China website. I think it is www.fwcc.org

If you are interested in books too, I can try to remember to post the contents of my library when I'm at home. The books won't help on process details though. I do like my subscription to Adoptive Families magazine. It's not China-specific, but I think it has a lot of good information each issue (every other month or so).

If I think of more, I'll add to this.

malie
07-22-2004, 10:43 AM
Just be aware that the face of international adoption can change a lot in 2 or 3 years

http://www.adoptivefamilies.com/china_adoption.php