PDA

View Full Version : New parent worries....

LittleMama1204
07-14-2005, 08:46 PM
Hi everyone. I just registered after buying the baby411 book. I am 15 years old and expecting my first child in December. I have never done this before and I am very worried about "labor day" and if I will be a good mother. My question is, is this normal? I have always thought of my self as a person who doesn't really like kids and I never wanted any of my own. This was not a planed pregnancy but I don't regret it at all. I just want to know if my so called "mother instincs" will kick in when the baby comes or is there something I should try to do to prepare myself.
Thank you to any one who replies and I am looking forward to a great time here at baby411.com!,
LittleMama

buddyleebaby
07-16-2005, 12:47 AM
Hi!
Congratulations on your baby. I know you must be scared.

First thing is first- do NOT worry about "labor day". Your body knows what to do, and it will not be nearly as bad as you imagine it to be.
Also, nowadays there are plenty of things they can do to help you with pain, if you think you need help. The worst part is not knowing what to expect.

As for worrying about being a good mother, it is TOTALLY normal. I was married and my dh and I planned my pregnancy, and I worried about whether or not I would be a good mom. I still do.

Will your mother instincts kick in when you hold your baby? It depends what you mean by mother instincts. Don't expect to instantly know all the right things to do for your baby, no one does. You and the baby learn together. And don't worry if you don't instantly love your baby. Some women don't. For some women it's more of a gradual thing. Just keep holding him, and talking to him, and rocking him, and in time you will love him more than you ever thought possible.