PDA

View Full Version : Swaddling and developmental delays

strike71
10-01-2004, 02:06 PM
I have been swaddling my 2 month old from day one at night. It seems that it is the only way she will go to sleep or calm her...flailing arms etc. She is kicking more and becomes unswaddled at times during the night. I just happened to run across a comment in the "what to expect the first year book" that you shouldn't swaddle past 1 month because it can cause developmental delays. Now I am worried. Has anyone read this and what age should swaddling be stopped if not?

momtoB
10-15-2004, 04:37 PM
Hi,
I'm no expert however my ds is a preemie born 12 weeks premature, so we have had to deal with developmental delays since he was born. I have a few thoughts about your concerns. First of all, I don't think you need to worry too much about delays caused from swaddling, especially if you're just doing it at night when baby is sleeping. It seems that your baby is developing just fine since she's already kicking her blankets off. The only thing I may be concerned about is that the loose blanket to get too close to her face and cause her to have her air cut off while she's sleeping. You may want to look into a "miracle blanket" or a sleep sack for her.

The other reason I wouldn't worry if I were you is just logically, I think that if a preemie born as much as 12 weeks early can "catch up" developmentally by the age of two (ds is almost 18 mos now and almost completely caught up according to his pedi.) then I just doubt that swaddling is really going to significantly hold a baby back from developing to his or her fullest potential. I guess it's possible that it could slow it down somewhat, but I doubt it would be a significant amount, and nothing that your little one wouldn't eventually learn to do eventually. Eventually your baby will probably let you know she doesn't need to be swaddled any more and it won't be a worry for you anyway.