PDA

View Full Version : To sleep or not to sleep...

ageorge911
08-20-2005, 07:27 PM
For the last year, I have been getting up with my 16 mo DD somewhere between 5-5:30 am so that I can nurse her before I go to work (I am a teacher and have to leave the house at 6:30am). If I didn't do this, I wouldn't get to see her until I picked her up in the afternoon and that would make me SO sad. However, as of late, she has been getting up at 4:30, and even if I wait until 5 to nurse her, she still keeps getting up at the way too early hour. Plus, with school starting soon, I can't get back to sleep because I am worrying about school stuff.

So my question is, should I stop waking her or getting up with her this early (she isn't hungry -- she just nurses because I offer it to her)? I worry that later on when I finally stop nursing, she will continue to get up and it will be harder to get back to sleep. Should I try to let her CIO for a few nights so that she gets used to the new schedule. I am so confused and sad because I would miss her so much, but think that this might be the best thing to do.

Thanks for any advice.

daisy1234
09-01-2005, 08:23 AM
What time is bedtime?...the reason why I ask is it seems that many kids do better with an earier bedtime...that often...amd did fix that issue with my son! The later he was up the earier he would get up! Just as Dr. Weissbluth observed as well! Does she nap?...poor napping habits can also effect nighttime sleep and early waking. I know people are going to start thinking I do commercials for Familysleep.com...but I have had good luck with talking to DEb. She really understands the babies sleep. She worked with Dr. Weissbluth...see my other posts. Anyway...I found her phone consults to be very valuable! I would recommend giving her a call. I know how hard it is to change a schedule for both of you especially is it entails weaning! Good luck and please post an update for others...I can see myself in that similiar situation!

Laura