PDA

View Full Version : speech

Andrewjosefsmom
06-04-2007, 01:39 PM
Hi All,

HELP!! My son, Andrew, will be turning 18 months old on the 16th of June, and he is barely saying any words except mamma and dadda. He knows exactly what we say, is able to follow several stepped instructions, takes us by the hand to show us where he wants to go, etc. I am extremely worried because he isn't saying any words. By now, according to several toddler books, he should have a vocabulary of at least 20 words, and should be using very simple sentences (Momma, up). I talk to him all of the time, describe everything, read books, etc. and still nothing. Every once in a while he will try repeating a word I say, but that has seemed to cease also. He is extremely active and smart and hears everything and understands everthing. I was a teacher for 15 years, so this is most upsetting and frustrating to me because I've been doing everything I know as a teacher to get him to talk. I know all children develop differently, but I really think he should be saying more than two words. He is going in for his 18 month check-up in a few weeks. I plan on talking to his doctor then, but thought it best to see if any other moms/dads have experienced this.

Any suggestions or comments would be most appreciated.

o_mom
06-04-2007, 02:10 PM
I think your books are off. :-) I would mention it to the doctor, but don't be surprised if they say it is normal.

Most development charts I have seen say "several" single words by 18 months and simple two word sentences by 24 months. Even those are just averages and not delayed.

If his receptive language skills are there, I think you need to just give him some time. It sounds like he is fine with understanding what you say, so that is good.