PDA

View Full Version : What is preservative-free flu vaccines?

yhtking
09-27-2006, 02:52 PM
I just called the Ped office today to check on the flu vaccines status. The nurse told me that they have received the perservative-free flu shots for kids 6 months to 35 months. At first I was relieved to know they have it so my DD can get hers this week and just hope they will have enough supply in a month since she didn't get two shots last year. But my son cann't get one till the regular vaccine comes in since he's older than 35 months.

What's the difference? Does anyone know? Is one better than other? Now, say if DD gets her preservative-free first shot now, and then they only have the regular one, would that be okay to take?

I guess I should call the ped office again. Does anyone have any experience with this stuff?

Thanks.

megs4413
09-27-2006, 02:56 PM
there are lots of mommas on here who know a lot about vaccines...i have limited knowledge but here's my basic understanding.

there was a concern that one of the preservatives they were using in vaccines was linked to autism. though i'm not sure if that's ever been flat out proven, i know that it lead to many mommies asking for preservative free vaccines. that is probably why your ped's nurse mentioned the distinction. i would go ahead and get it!

someone more knowledgable will probably come along, but i don't think it's anything to worry about..and i wanted you to know right away!

ppshah
09-27-2006, 03:13 PM
I'm guessing preservative free means thimerisol free

bubbaray
09-27-2006, 03:38 PM