PDA

View Full Version : Starting to think about Chrismas

msharrow
07-15-2006, 09:37 AM
Here it is July and I am starting to think about what I'd like to get for my two year old for Christmas. I am thinking Hooked on Phonics because I really want him to get a head start on reading and maybe a few other small items like DVDs and cartridges for some toys he already has. What is the best price you've seen on the Hooked on Phonics beginning reader package and is anyone else besides me thinking about Christmas?

jd11365
07-15-2006, 04:54 PM
I'm a teacher, the HOF is crapola. Spend your money on some good books instead and read to him every day. You will create a reader in no time!

thomma
07-15-2006, 07:56 PM
Jamie-
You took the words right out of my mouth. Except maybe I would've just said crap and not crapola. :)

Kim (also a teacher)
t&e 5/03

kcimato
07-15-2006, 07:59 PM
Teacher here too. Just read ,read,read.

nightbird1103
07-16-2006, 12:25 PM
ITA with the others about the hooked on phonics. You may also want to get some read along books just for a change of pace. We have a winnie the pooh exercise book like that and dd loves it. We also got the ABC cd/dvd set from They Might Be Giants (they have videos occasionally on playhouse disney. It really got dd interested in letters and words. Now she tries to read everything (she really just says random letters when she sees a word, but it's a start!)
I've also been thinking about the holidays. I just bought a kidcraft transportation city with the table for dd. I now have until Christmas to clear out enough stuff so that we have room for it. LOL.

msharrow
07-16-2006, 04:37 PM