PDA

View Full Version : Making a diaper bag... any advice?

JennyLynn
06-04-2004, 06:09 PM
So excited (and yes, very nerdy :P) - I spent an hour and a half in Hancock Fabrics today picking out a pattern and fabric to make my own diaper bag! I got a green floral for the main part, pink ticking for the straps, and pink eyelet for the lining. I must have been in a very girly mood! This is the pattern I picked out (I am making the one on the bottom left):

http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/mccallspatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.400004403=x&TI=40022&pageNum=2&M=&UK=33064693

So... as this is my first attempt to sew a non-clothing item, does anyone have any advice? Or, just words of encouragement? I'll post a picture when I am done.

Jenny

luvbeinmama
06-06-2004, 03:04 AM
You are soooo NOT nerdy!! Looks very cute, and I'm sure you'll do just great! Sorry, no advice to offer unless you have a specific question.

JennyLynn
06-08-2004, 11:36 AM
I am attempting to attach some pics of the bag I made. I am pretty happy with it, although I realize now I should have put in more pockets, and I would like it to be a little stiffer/less floppy. It took forever to match up the fabric patterns - if I make another one I will use a more loosely patterned fabric. It was so fun to do something that I enjoy, I haven't sewn since DS was born.

Jenny

khakismom
06-08-2004, 12:32 PM
Jenny, what a fabulous bag!! I love the patterns--so cute--and the bag looks great! See, it's people like you that give me hope. I am sooooo not domestic but am taking a sewing class this month and want to get a sewing machine to do fun, little projects.

You need to head over to the BBB Yahoo group HomeBiz and start offering your services making dipe bags!!

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/BBBHomebiz/

papal
06-08-2004, 04:58 PM