PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on how to transition to formula

littleme2
03-04-2004, 04:45 PM
Hi, I have been nursing for 7 months and pumping since going back to work when DD was 6 weeks old. My supply has gradually decreased over the past month or so. I have found so many helpful hints and have been eating oatmeal twice a day and taking fenugreek. DD has been taking about 15 oz at daycare and I am only making about 10 oz. Today, I made only 6oz. I have been using my freezer stash and now that's coming to an end in another week or so.

I am going to have to start transitioning DD to formula and I bought Good Start Supreme today.

I'm not sure how to transition her to formula. Do I mix formula with breast milk? I figure if she doesn't finish the bottle than the precious BF gets dumped too. Or do I start off giving the BF and then switch to formula at the end?

I am still going to pump three times a day at work but supplementing is just so confusing.

Thanks.

stillplayswithbarbies
03-04-2004, 05:19 PM
Here are some articles about increasing your supply:

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/low-supply.html

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/pumping_decrease.html

I would not mix the breastmilk and formula, as you said if baby doesn't finish it then you will be wasting breastmilk.

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

farsk
03-04-2004, 06:44 PM
Hi!

I completely understand where you are coming from...my supply dipped very low at one time, too. I have pumped as many as 8 times in a day to get the 15 oz. I send to school with Ellen. Finally, after about a week and a half, my supply is back up! yay!

Before making such an important health decision, you may want to consult with your LC.

Good Luck!

jsoares
03-04-2004, 11:47 PM
Hi:

We are transitioning to formula. We started by giving a bottle of formula a week and increasing it gradually to one a day.