PDA

View Full Version : I'm confused on the theory behind food allergies...

deborah_r
03-24-2004, 05:14 PM
and delaying introduction of foods which are common allergens. I often see people post that they have given their child the food in question, perhaps before the age that some experts recommend, and they say there hasn't been any problem. Is it possible the allergy will surface later?

Let me try to explain what I mean a little better. I was trying to delay wheat until 10 months for Kai. But for whatever reasons, he ended up having it before then. He has not shown any symptoms of allergy. But could my too-early introduction have caused an allergy later in his life, even if I don't see any symptoms now?

kijip
03-24-2004, 05:52 PM
I think that you will be fine since Kai has not shown any signs of a reaction. I have never heard of a reaction starting later in lfe that was triggered by eating the food as a baby. But I am not a doctor. My understanding is that at a younger age a baby might not be able to handle certain foods- especially if allergies run in the family. Sometimes a childhood allergy is triggered but then the child grows out of it (common with dairy and soy). Sometimes the allergy is a life long threat (common with shell fish, peanuts, soy). My ped suggests waiting on fish, nuts, soy and some berries but is ok with wheat, eggs and tomatoes if the family is allergy free. Many people are told they are allergic to wheat when they are not.

christic
03-24-2004, 09:00 PM
I'm also confused about this because of the recent study indicating that early exposure to pets makes children LESS likely to have animal allergies later in life.

I don't understand how exposure to certain types of food can cause allergies while exposure to pet dander helps prevent allergies.

stillplayswithbarbies
03-24-2004, 09:32 PM
This article explains it:

http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/solids/delay-solids.html

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

christic