PDA

View Full Version : How can a pea be a choking hazard?

deborah_r
03-25-2004, 08:29 PM
I saw in Super Baby Food that she says whole peas are a choking hazard. Anyone think this is just poppycock? (Now *there* is a choking hazard: poppycock!) it seems to me they are small enough and soft enough to just go down if the baby doesn't chew them.

I am willing to accept I am wrong and she is right, but would like to hear what other people think. She just seems kind of cautious on some things, and not cautious enough on others...

stillplayswithbarbies
03-25-2004, 08:34 PM
I think the problem is that they are small enough and round enough that they can be aspirated into the lungs.

I always smash canned peas so they are not round before I give them to her. I don't feed frozen peas or fresh peas at all because they are more firm.

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

jd11365
03-25-2004, 09:38 PM
Personally, I think they are fine...but I'm no expert and don't want to tell you what to do. Kayla is a great masher of food...and I'm rarely nervous anymore of her choking because she loves to chew...of course I don't feed her large round objects either. I do however give her large chunks of food that are much larger than a pea, so I don't know how a pea could do much harm. I guess since they technically could choke she might not want to support the idea and risk a lawsuit or something...

Jamie
Mommy to Kayla
5-1-03

etwahl
03-25-2004, 09:39 PM
at what age are they deemed safe whole? because i have always given peas whole and still do. should i change this?

Tammy,
Mom to Lauren Genevieve
03/12/2003
www.evantammy.com

bluej
03-25-2004, 10:56 PM