PDA

View Full Version : EBM safety--please help!

katenyc
07-16-2004, 12:15 PM
I am bfing my dd (4 weeks), but in the past two weeks have pumped a bottle a week just to get her used to the idea.

Anyway, I pumped 4 oz on Wednesday afternoon. DH fed her 2 oz--all she wanted--that day and we put the rest in the fridge "as is" (just popped a nipple cover over the whole thing and stuck it in). Was that a terrible hygienic mistake? He was going to give her the other 2 oz tonight, but now I am questioning how we stored it. If that was the wrong way, what's the right way (or is the right way only to store 2 oz at a time)?

TIA--I am new at this.

Kate, mom to Maya 6/18/04

nitaghei
07-16-2004, 12:33 PM
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news - but that EBM's long gone bad. Do NOT give it to your DD. EBM should be used within a couple of hours when the baby's already drunk from the bottle.

Next time, put only 2 oz in the bottle, and save the rest in another bottle. EBM is good for about 10 hours unrefrigerated from the time of pumping; for 4-7 days in the refrigerator, and 3-6 months in the freezer. Once the baby's fed from the bottle, the remaining EBM is good for 1-2 hours. I know some people will pop it back in the refrigerator, and use it for the next feeding. I personally never took that risk, even though I cried every time I had to pour EBM down the drain. But, in any case, you cannot use it 48 hours later.

At the new born stage, I would highly recommend doing 2 oz servings to avoid wasting EBM.

HTH

Nita
mom to Neel, January 2003
dog mom to a cocker and a PWD

sntm
07-16-2004, 12:37 PM