PDA

View Full Version : Sorry if this has been asked a million times . . .

writeleigh
10-13-2004, 11:58 AM
How many bottles of formula/milk do your 11/12 month olds consume in a day? DS is almost one. He is very interested in solid foods and eats pretty well - he joins us for meals and usually eats bits of whatever we're eating (well, along with lots of Goldfish throughout the day LOL). With increased solids, I expected his bottle consumption to reduce a lot more than it has - but it seems to just remain the same. He consumes approximately 48 oz. of formula a day (maybe a bit more or less).

Also, when I take him for his one year appointment next week- will the doctor advise we begin introducing milk to replace the formula?

octmom
10-13-2004, 12:27 PM
Wow! That sounds like a lot of formula, but I am by no means an expert. My DS will turn one on 10/29. He usually drinks about 10 ounces of bottled breastmilk (sometimes with a little formula added if I am short on milk) at daycare, plus I nurse him at lunchtime. So, I'd guess he drinks about 15 ounces during the day, sometimes a little less. I nurse him at home in the morning and at least once after work, so maybe another 10 ounces there. We've been co-sleeping (not at all what I intended do, but we got there a few months ago and its worked out allright), and he will latch on during the night, but I don't think he's really drinking much. That's mainly comfort nursing. So, I'd guess he drinks approx. 25 ounces or so a day, max. And he gets solids two or three times at daycare (bfast, lunch, snack), Cheerios or Kix for snacks, and solids for dinner at home.

ETA: I expect to be told we can introduce cow's milk when DS goes for his one year appointment in a few weeks. I won't quit nursing instantly, so we'll probably phase in cow's milk in bottles and I will keep up the nursing in the mornings and evenings for a while.

Jerilyn
DS, Sean 10/03

"Baby makes days shorter, nights longer, home happier, and love stronger."