PDA

View Full Version : 6 month old BF baby refusing occasional bottle

sophiesmom
08-18-2006, 10:05 PM
I've been nursing DD for 6 months. She's had an occasional bottle of formula when I'm out. She's had them from the time she was in the hospital and always did fine with them. She maybe would get one once a week, but sometimes longer stretches.

Over the past few weeks she seems to be refusing to take the bottle from anyone. This is frustating for me because I rush around when I'm out.

Do you think this could be: just deciding does not like the taste of formula? (therefore should i try pumping?) teething? something else?

She's also becoming very distracted when nursing, but i remember DS doing the same around this age. I'm getting a bit frustrated with nursing and want to try to hold on if i can!

Thanks!

rsgmommy
08-19-2006, 08:47 PM
As far as the formula- can you maybe try another brand to see if it is a flavor preference thing?

And the distraction- easier said than done, but eliminate distractions while nursing- quiet, dark, etc. When DD went through this stage, I took away the breast if she wouldn't focus and nurse. Eventually she got the picture that nursing time was time to nurse- not play.

Not an expert, so take this with a grain of salt, but I did nurse DS for 16 months and DD for 18 months, so lots of experience, *grin*.

Best of luck!

mypa
08-21-2006, 01:10 AM
I had the same situation with my BF DS. That was right around the time he refused to take the bottle of expressed BM that he used to drink just fine couple of times a week. In fact he refused to take it in a sippy or cup also. I think that around six months old they become so aware of their surroundings and realize that getting milk from mommy's nipple is a lot more enjoyable than the bottle.