PDA

View Full Version : Weaning from Pumping/ Formula Recommendation

BayAreaMom
09-13-2006, 03:02 PM
I've been pumping at work for the past 2 months and am trying to make it a few more weeks until my daughter is 6 months old. It's been very time consuming and i'm glad i've made it this long- kudos for those of you who go all the way! It's a hard decision and I really struggled with it but finally know it's what I want to do. I am wondering if anyone has suggestions for weaning from the pump- fortunately Liz takes bottles for all but one small feeding each day (at most, sometimes its no bf at all if i'm working late), so i don't anticipate i'll have any problems weaning her (thankfully- but i know i will miss the bonding and convenience at times). Kellymom says that I can either 1)drop one session every 3-7 days, 2) gradually decrease pumping time for every session or 3) gradually increase the length of time between each pumping session. Which of these have people used successfully? Usually I pump three times/day (6:30 am, 10:00 am, and 2:00 pm) and bf or pump at night around 6:30 pm. My am supply is ample-sometimes 12 oz in one session and it diminishes later in the day. I think option #1 might be best for me as well as reducing my yield of my first pumping session since that's when i get my biggest yield. I am hoping that this won't be painful- I don't know what to expect.

Also, does anyone have any tips for breastpump (PISA) storage (besides cleaning everything very well) and what parts I can't reuse- I will be using it again for baby #2 in about 2-2 1/2 years.