PDA

View Full Version : Help! Elimination diet and need dinner ideas

writermama
08-29-2006, 08:18 AM
It looks like my EBF 1 month old has silent reflux so, as of today, I'm on an elimination diet. I'd rather not cook 1 meal for me and another for DH and DD, so I'm looking for some family friendly ideas that don't have: dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, beef, fish, or shellfish.

mskitty
08-30-2006, 07:27 PM
I'm a pro at this. I'm not supposed to eat dairy, eggs and beef among other things.

Baked Chicken with roasted vegtables and potatoes
White Chicken Chili
5 Bean Chili
Pork Roast
Chicken Tacos (cook chicken in crockpot with salsa or seasoning)
Shredded BBQ pork served with baked beans (no bun required)
Chicken Fajitas
Lamb Stew with pearl onions, baby carrots and green beans
German Dinner (pork sauage, apples, potatoes, sauerkraut)
Stirfry vegtables and dark chicken meat with 5 spice for flavor
Sweet n Sour Chicken, Pineapple and Peapods
Baked Turkey breast, Sweet potatoes and cranberry
Spaghetti with italian pork sausage
Tortellini with mushrooms or spinach as filling
Stuffed Green Peppers with ground pork
Red beans and Rice (I usually add some venison sausage)
Chicken broth soups (wild rice, noodle, etc)
Grilled Lamb loin chops
Corn chowder (skip adding the dairy and serve thick)

Other hints:

Check out your local health food store. They are about the only place to find bread without dairy or eggs. Bread is the hardest thing to replace when eliminating dairy and eggs.

You can pretty much make anything you normally would.. just substitute a different meat. It was an adjustment for my husband to give up ground beef but he adapted quickly.

Its best to stick to basic foods when eliminating. Just a simple meat, vegtable and starch is the best. Sometimes the allergy can be to a food additive such as MSG or food coloring.