PDA

View Full Version : OK, so now I DON'T think DS has SID...now what?

bisous
01-22-2008, 12:29 AM
Thank you to everyone who replied to my initial thread asking questions about Sensory Processing Disorders. I followed the recommendations and read the Out of Sync child, skimmed Sensational Kids and visited the websites. I also talked to the school district (briefly) and the only conclusion that I come to is that he doesn't have an outright sensory problem. I thought it might be because DS is having a problem with personal space and touching too much but he is only touching PEOPLE and has no other problems with touching other things too much/too little. He doesn't seem to be striving for any kind of sensory balance but rather for social connection. My gut feeling is that it is not a sensory thing.

I'm no expert but so far I've ruled out Autism and Aspergers and Sensory Processing problems.

However, DS (only 4 years old!!) fits into nearly every single description of a child with ADHD, hyperactive subtype. Where can I find resources to try to deal with this without medication? I know he is too little to diagnose and too little to medicate but I want to do everything I can to help my son. Whatever is going on is a problem to the extent that he is that one child that just CANNOT sit still out of a class of 20 kids. He needs to be reminded constantly not to touch other people and I just don't know how to help him act appropriately.

Can anyone suggest any message boards, books, dietary tips or other resources for dealing with this kind of kid? Am I premature? Should I just wait for him to grow up naturally? Do I seriously need to chill?

Any and all advice always, always appreciated.

Jen

spanannie
01-22-2008, 12:46 AM