PDA

View Full Version : I didn't get the job...and I'm so sad. And MAD!

JoyNChrist
01-24-2008, 05:05 AM
This is gonna be SO long...apologies in advance.

Some of you may remember that before Christmas I was asking for prayers/positive thoughts regarding a job opportunity that I had recently discovered. It would have been perfect for me, I was really excited about it (like, really, REALLY excited), and I thought I had a very good chance of getting it. I've been doing interviews and things like that since before the new year. And I just found out today that I didn't get the position.

I'm heartbroken.

But more than that, I'm mad. Because I think I know why I didn't get the job, and I consider it discriminatory, to say the least.

Here are the details...

I was applying to be the director of a new Spanish immersion preschool that is opening in my area. I am, IMO, highly qualified for this job. I have a Bachelor's degree in Spanish Education, with minors in Spanish Literature and Early Childhood Ed. I am almost finished with my M.Ed. I have worked as a translator since I graduated high school, and I have been tutoring Spanish for 6 years. I also have plenty of experience working with young children (lots of baby-sitting, tutoring, Sunday School, daycare work in college, and of course my own kid). I also have experience in management and human resources, so that area of the job is covered as well.

It has always been my goal to specialize in teaching Spanish at an early age, which is when most experts agree that it is easiest to pick up a second (or third) language. I did most of my student teaching with lower-level classes and did an internship with a French immersion preschool during my senior year of college.