PDA

View Full Version : Teachers... Is it okay to pull child two days for a vacation?

julierobin
02-11-2008, 05:58 PM
What is your opinion regarding taking a child out of school to go on a family vacation? We have an opportunity to go on a family vacation in October 2008, but it would mean taking DS out of kindergarten for one or two days. It is our only option, other than not go. Do teachers think it is so irresponsible of parents to take kids out of school for a vacation?

TIA,

Julie

schums
02-11-2008, 06:24 PM
Not a teacher, but BTDT. We took DS out of K for 2 days to go to a family baptism, and the teacher didn't even blink. Of course, she has kids in her class that are out for 6 WEEKS at a time to go overseas.

FWIW, I wouldn't hesitate to pull DC out of school for up to a week in the elementary years. Junior high and high school, I think you miss too much material in the week to easily make up the time.

HTH,

kcimato
02-11-2008, 06:33 PM
I am a teacher and say go ahead and do it. She will not miss that much.

LarsMal
02-11-2008, 06:37 PM
I was a teacher, and I say go for it! It's October so he'll have had some time to get settled in, so it won't be like you're pulling him out a week into the school year. A day or two isn't much either. He'll be fine!

I just hated it when a parent would take their child on a trip inthe middle of the year, for a full week, and then ask for/expect the entire weeks worth of assignments to take along!

Have fun! (Even though it's months away!)

mdb78
02-11-2008, 07:36 PM
In jr. high, I went on a skiing trip for a week in the middle of feb. My teachers had no problem with that, in fact, I remember them all asking if they could come along.. They just gave me the assignments. I don't think 1 or 2 days will be a problem.. :)

luvmypeanut
02-11-2008, 08:54 PM