PDA

View Full Version : Career advice - or what to do when I grow up (long)

niccig
02-13-2008, 08:22 PM
Joking about the grow up comment - well sort of.

Background - I was a reference librarian at universities before DS was born. I became a librarian so I could increase my research skills before going back to graduate school in a history related field. I also needed to work and it was a good fit for a while, but I got side-tracked into Law Libraries - and that wasn't so much fun, and I missed doing my own research. The plan was to be a SAHM with DS, and spend time doing classes through UCLA extension in archaeology/anthropology related subjects and volunteer with an archaeologist as her research assistant, and "eventually" enroll full-time once I know what I want to write my thesis on. That's worked well for the last 2 years.

Problem - the "eventually" part of the plan is now sooner rather than later. DH and I are talking about future plans and most of that hinges on what I want to do - go back to study, where, what, when, or try to get a job through the archaeologist I volunteer with, but that would be in the admin part of her museum work and not the research.

To throw a curve ball - DH is talking about moving to Boulder. His uncle/aunt/cousins all live there and he lived there in his early 20's. I know it would be a great place to bring up DS - the extended family are amazing people, they're very active in their community and everyone we've met we've had very interesting, intellectually challenging conversations, we could do all the outdoor activities, DS could go to the great schools DH's 13yo cousin has attended that are more in line with how we want DS to be educated than what we have here (Los Angeles). DH can work from Boulder for his current company, 2 other people telecommute, and his uncle said DH could rent office space in his architecture firm, so DH isn't isolated all day.